How Can You Take Action?

1. Be Part of the Conversation

REGISTER today for the the GBA/GBF webinar series Extreme Water Levels: Impacts and Strategies Webinar Series. It is a collection of 3 webinars aimed at questions around what actions could be taken to protect properties and shorelines around the Bay during high and low water extremes.
2. Support More Government Action

Send en email to our government on one or more of the following:

  • Encourage the Canadian government to engage the American government in a discussion for an improvement in the tools needed and available to better mitigate extreme high and low water levels

  • Inspire governments to start conversations about the possible addition of new tools like control structures at the mouths of the St. Clair and Niagara Rivers

  • Encourage the Canadian government with the US government to examine the role that GLAM (Great Lakes-St.Lawrence Adaptive Management Committee) could play in improving coordination between all control structures

  • Urge discussions about the potential revival of the International Joint Commission (IJC) 2013 recommendation to put in place a Great Lakes Water Levels Advisory Board. This would be key to integrating and fortifying gaps in data about the Great Lakes to better inform government and citizens of changing conditions due to climate change

  • Share your own story of hardship with extreme water levels.

  • Who to email or write:

    Contact the Federal Minister: Federal Minister: Wilkinson, Jonathan, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Jonathan.Wilkinson@parl.gc.ca

    Copy your own Federal MP:

    - MP finder by postal code: https://www.ourcommons.ca/Members/en/search
    Some local MPs:
    Parry Sound –Mukoka - Scott Aitchison
    Scott.Aitchison@parl.gc.ca Bruce.Stanton@parl.gc.ca

    Simcoe Grey – Terry Dowdall -
    Terry.Dowdall@parl.gc.ca

    Barrie- Sprinwater Oro-Medonte - Doug Shipley -
    Doug.Shipley@parl.gc.ca

    Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound - Alex Ruff -
    Alex.Ruff@parl.gc.ca

    Nickel Belt - Marc G Serré -
    Marc.Serre@parl.gc.ca

    Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapukasing - Carol Hughes -

    Carol.Hughes@parl.gc.ca

    Copy the Ontario Minister of the Environment, Conservation, and Parks

    MPP Jeff Yurek (Minster of the Environment, Conservation and Parks): minister.mecp@ontario.ca

    Copy your local Ontario Minister (MPP)
    - MPP finder https://www.ola.org/en/members
    - Some local MPPs
    Norm Miller MPP Parry Sound-Muskoka, norm.miller@pc.ola.org

    Jill Dunlop MPP Simcoe North, jill.dunlopco@pc.ola.org

    Bill Walker MPP Bruce Grey, bill.walkerco@pc.ola.org

    Jim Wilson MPP Simcoe-Grey, jwilson@ola.org